Review: Documentum Content Management Foundations: EMC Proven Professional Certification Exam E20-120 Study Guide

Documentum Content Management Foundations: EMC Proven Professional Certification Exam E20-120 Study Guide

Pawan Kumar

I normally don’t review books, but the author personally asked me to provide an unbiased review of his book. Given that this is the first book dedicated to EMC Content Management certification exam AND there are plenty of new Documentum developers asking about the certification process, I thought why not.

The book covers the same topics that the Documentum Technical Fundamentals class covers. The author does a good job explaining various Documentum concepts in layman’s terms. I especially like the use of “checkpoint” at the end of each chapter to test your understanding of the concepts and the inclusion of relevant DQL queries throughout the book. If you are having difficulties understanding the security model or how workflow works, the chapters covering these topics are exceptional.

The main problem I have with the book is the lack of a common theme behind the examples used throughout the book. The examples jump from courseware to resume submission to book development. It wouldn’t have been that much harder to develop a uniform story and it would definitely reinforce the learning process.

Would I buy the book myself – probably not, since I have worked with Documentum for over 10 years. Would I recommend it to a friend? Probably.

Besides the few technical errata I found in the book, I feel that this book would benefit anyone who has less than a year of experience working with Documentum. If you have worked with Documentum for a while, but are wary of taking the certification exam, the two practice exams included in the book are illustrative of the actual exam.

3 responses to “Review: Documentum Content Management Foundations: EMC Proven Professional Certification Exam E20-120 Study Guide

  1. 🙂 nice review.

    IMHO, to pass CMF (E20-120) exam, one just need to go through technical fundamental course material thoroughly for once.

  2. Thank you for your comments Harry. Its a bit hard for me to determine how hard (or easy) the exam is given that I have worked with Documentum for so long.

  3. I would agree, Harry, but the thing, as someone who is trying to break into Documentum use, is that in order to get the course material you have to drop a pretty significant chunk of change if your company isn’t willing to pay for your Documentum education. At least with this book I can buy the book, read it, work in Documentum for awhile and get the certification so I can be qualified to work exclusively in Documentum.

Leave a Reply

