So its been a year…

since I have been blogging. I didnt think I would get much interest, but the number of hits I have received is beyond what I have dreamed. I havent written much in the past couple of months, because honestly, I havent been inspired to write. Give me a few weeks after D6 release, and I will be rev’d up again. In the meantime, I figure I give the community the opportunity to request a topic for me to blog about. Just Ask!

Please refrain from posting coding questions and product support questions – there are plenty of other sites that you can post these kinds of question. Remember, my blog is dedicated to architecture and design.

3 responses to “So its been a year…

  1. Hi Johny,

    I have installed oracle 11 in linux, I am getting the following error when I am trying to run dbdbtest:

    [dmadmin@localhost ~]$ dmdbtest -DDB11G -S192.168.65.128 -Usysman -Poracle
    Mon Jul 13 09:42:34 2009 181569 [DM_SESSION_I_ORA_NLS33]info: “Setting Environment Variable ORA_NLS33 to ‘/webmd/documentum/product/5.3/oracle’.”
    Failed to make a database connection using the following data:
    Database Server: 192.168.65.128
    Database Name : DB11G
    User Name : sysman
    User Password : Check either the -P flag on command line or
    the password file specified in your server.ini
    Error from database system is: ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve the connect identifier specified
    (system code: 12154)

    and this is tns entry:

    [root@localhost admin]# cat tnsnames.ora
    # tnsnames.ora Network Configuration File: /u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/network/admin/tnsnames.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    DB11G =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost.localdomain)(PORT = 1521))
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SID=DB11G)
    (GLOBAL_NAME=ORCL)
    )
    )

    and listener.ora:

    [root@localhost admin]# cat listener.ora
    # listener.ora Network Configuration File: /u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1/network/admin/listener.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC1521))
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost.localdomain)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    )

    # List of services served by this listner
    SID_LIST_LISTENER=
    (SID_LIST=
    (SID_DESC=
    (SID_NAME=DB11G)
    (ORACLE_HOME=/u01/app/oracle/product/11.1.0/db_1)
    )
    )

    # Start of config param
    TRACE_LEVEL_LISTENER=OFF
    TRACE_FILE_LISTENER = “listener”
    LOG_FILE_LISTENER = “listener”
    CONNECT_TIMEOUT_LISTENER = 10
    STOP_LISTNERE = YES
    DBA_GROUP = dba

    PLEASE HELP.

  2. DQL that alters a given ACL and then sets the same on documents under a specified cabinet.

  3. What are the architectural differences between Documentum versions 5.x and 6.x?

Leave a Reply

